A common question is what information is lost and what information is kept when I delete a therapist / provider from my Therabill account?
Information/Features that are lost when you delete a provider
- You will no longer be able to see the provider in your schedule - The list of providers that you can see from your schedule is pulled from your provider list. Therefore, if you remove a provider, the provider will no longer show up in the schedule. For historic information, you would need to go to filing or through the client medical records.
- Unconfirmed sessions: When you delete a therapist or provider from your Therabill account all unconfirmed sessions for that provider are also deleted from your schedule.
- You will no longer have access to that providers record under the Providers area in Therabill.
- That provider will no longer be able to login to Therabill to perform any functions such as scheduling, writing notes, or finalization of notes. Make sure the provider will no longer need to access their login before you delete the provider.
- You can no longer bill out any sessions for that provider. This includes resubmissions. Make sure you are completely done billing for that provider before you delete the provider.
Information that is NOT lost
- All confirmed sessions will remain in the schedule. You will still have access to past 'confirmed' sessions. That is, you do not lose any of the documentation.
- The provider's name will still show on all reports where appropriate.
- All CMS-1500 that you have already created will still be available in the CMS-1500 filing cabinet.
- Client / Patient information will stay intact. Deleting a provider does not delete clients in Therabill.
Can I delete a provider and then enter them as a new provider later?
If you delete a provider, that provider entry is deleted. If you add a new provider in the future with the same name and NPI, Therabill will not know that this is the same provider you had entered previously. Therefore, while you can do this, make sure you understand that there will be no link between the old provider and the new provider in Therabill. Therabill will treat them as two different providers, even though they may have the same name.
Well, that is just crazy! Why is that?
Therabill is a computer and it behaves as such. Think of each of your therapist as a "number". This number is the provider ID in Therabill. Every session you enter links to a "provider ID" (not to a provider's name or NPI). Every time you enter a new provider, a new entry is made and a provider ID is automatically assigned to the new provider by the database.
Therefore, if you have a provider with name Jane Doe (provider ID: 1) and you add sessions for that provider, then all of those sessions will be linked to provider ID: 1. If you then delete the provider, then the provider entry is deleted, however, all of the confirmed sessions, notes, claims are still linked to provider ID: 1 (that is how we can keep that information when you delete the provider). If you then add a new provider with name Jane Doe, it may get provider ID: 3. Just because you added a new provider with the same name, does not change the fact that all of those sessions, notes, claims, etc are linked to provider ID 1 and not to provider ID 3.