When you are using Therabill's custom documentation system, you may have noticed that it Auto-Saves whenever you change fields. What you might not have known is that each of those saves creates a document version for that note and you have access to all of those past versions (saves). You also have the ability to revert your note back to one of those previous versions. This can be helpful if you accidentally deleted a note, or if you lost internet connection while entering the note and lost some data. Read on to find out how to use this feature.
How do I view my past document versions (saves)
First, what exactly are versions? Every time a note is saved, it creates a version of that note. By saving every version of a note, you can have access to all previous versions, even if you deleted a note and started over. You will have access to view and restore any of the past versions (saves) of that note.
When you are entering a note for a specific client and date of service, as soon as it saves the first time, you will see a blue versions link appear at the upper right hand corner (see image to the right, red arrow). Please note that there is also a trash can icon. The trash can icon can be used to delete the note in its entirety. If you delete a note, and then start typing a new note on the date of service, you will still have access to the versions of the new note that you start, as well as past deleted notes for that date of service.
If you click on the versions link, a pop-up window will open. The window will appear as shown in the image to the right, below.
The image shows the anatomy of the documentation versions window. The window can be broken up in to two main areas. These areas are the two grey shadow boxes. The top grey shadow box gives you information about the current version of the document you are viewing. It also gives you the ability to switch between versions (see blue arrow and green arrow to the right). Underneath the word Saved, it shows you the exact date and time (to the second) that the version was saved.
The bottom grey shadow box is the body of the note. The body of the note (or the version of the note) in the example to the right, is just showing Medical History Review. The body of the note shows the information that was saved at that time.
- Blue Arrow: The blue arrow is pointing to a left arrow. There may be a left arrow and/or a right arrow (which would show on the other side of the Saved text. If one of the arrows is not present, this means that a previous or newer version does not exists. The left arrow will advance the version back to the previous saved version. The right arrow advances the version forward in time.
- Green Arrow: This drop down will only be present if you have any deleted versions of the note. That is, if at any point you deleted the note using the trash can icon and then started over. The drop down will give you access to those past deleted versions. Simply choose the version from the drop down menu.
- Red Arrow: If the note you are viewing versions for has not been finalized, then you will see a link at the top right labeled Restore to this version. This gives you the ability to restore your note back to that version. See Restoring your note to a previous version below.
Restoring your note to a previous version
Therabill gives you the ability to restore your note to a previous version of the note. Within the versions window, navigate using the arrows (blue arrow) and/or doc version (green arrow) to the version that you want to revert back to. Once you are viewing the version that you want to revert to, click the Restore to this version link (red arrow in image to the left). This will change the note that you are viewing the versions and revert it back to the state shown in the version. NOTE: Consequently, this will create a new version. Therefore, if you do this by accident, you can revert back again.