You may have gone to your schedule, dashboard, or search sessions area to delete a session only to find that the session does not have a delete icon associated with it. Or, maybe you are deleting a recurring session and some sessions within the recurrence do not get deleted. If this sounds like your issue, then please read on.
In general, it is not a good idea to delete sessions. If you are wanting to cancel a session, then we recommend using session classes to indicate and track cancelled sessions. There are various reasons why Therabill will not allow you to delete a session. The various reasons are listed below.
- Billed to insurance: The session has been billed out to insurance. Once a session has been billed out to insurance, it cannot be deleted. If you are wanting to remove the charge from the patient, then you should adjust off the balance due by entering an adjustment on the single session enter payment form.
- Payments or Adjustments: The session has payments and/or adjustments applied to it. This safeguard is in place to keep you from accidentally deleting the charge without deleting payments and adjustments that were applied to that charge. If you forget to remove the payments and adjustments, then your patients ledger balance will be off. If you want to delete this session, then you will first need to remove the payments and adjustments that have been applied to it.
- Finalized Note: The session has been finalized. Therabill will not allow you to delete a session that has a finalized note associated with it.