When you open the Edit Session screen, each service code will have and icons next to them. These indicate that you can edit or delete the code, respectively. However, the icon will not appear if there are any payments or adjustments posted to that service line.
Every service line entered is given a unique database ID number within the system. This is done within the coding, so you will never see these ID numbers. This is how the application is able to generate reports and claims.
When you post a payment or an adjustment, those amounts are tied to the ID number of the service line. If you were to delete the service line, the payments would remain in the system, but they would no longer be connected to that database ID. These payments would still reflect in your reporting, but would no longer affect the payments or adjustments on a session.
How to Delete a Service Line
If you need to delete a service line, you will have to remove the payments/adjustments that are attached.
- From the Edit Session screen, select the icon at the top. This will open the Single Session window.
- Under Payment History, delete or unassign the application payments and adjustments using the icon.
- Exit out of this window to return to the Edit Session screen.
Important: Keep track of any insurance payments or adjustments that you delete because this will affect your reporting.