Important: If your account was created before October 3, 2019, see: Provider Setup (Standalone) - Accounts Created Before 10/3/2019.
This article provides an overview and some general instructions for how to complete setup actions in the Providers tab. It is essential to correctly set up providers for efficient billing and error reduction.
To set up a new provider, navigate to Providers > Provider List.
Setup Providers & Assistants
If you need to add a new Provider or Assistant, you will need to ensure that you have an available license within the application.
If there are no available licenses:
- The Add Provider button will not be visible
- A Decision Maker must contact firstname.lastname@example.org to request an additional license
- You can delete an existing provider if the billing cycle has been completed for all claims and they are no longer working at your clinic
Once you have an extra license, select the Add Provider button to continue.
You are required to enter the provider's NPI, Taxonomy Code, Credentials, First Name, and Last Name. This is the minimum amount of information required for successful billing.
- Start by checking the Is an assistant box.
- Enter the Supervisor's name and select them from the drop-down list.
- Next, list the NPI, First Name, and Last Name. If the assistant does not have an NPI, ensure that a unique placeholder NPI is used for each assistant (i.e. 9999999995 or 5555555551).
There are several areas where provider information appears in the application. We will discuss two of these.
- Session/Service Provider - The Provider that performed the services.
- Rendering Provider - The Provider that is listed in Box 24J of the CMS-1500.
Rendering Provider on Insurance Claim
- If the provider listed on the session is a Provider, their NPI number will appear in Box 24J.
- If the provider listed on the session is an Assistant, their supervisor’s NPI will appear in Box 24J.
Once a provider has been deleted, there is no way to re-activate them. If there is a provider that leaves and comes back, you will need to make a new provider account for them, and it will not link to the previous provider account for that individual.
It is important to note that once a provider has been deleted:
- They will not show up in the Providers tab.
- They will not be able to login to Therabill.
- Sessions cannot be billed out for that provider (including resubmissions), so all billing for that provider should be done prior to deleting them.
Information that will remain after a provider has been deleted:
- Confirmed sessions
- The provider will show up on reports
- All CMS-1500's linked to that provider
- All client information
To delete the provider, navigate to the Provider List and select the icon.
Important: If you delete a provider and will no longer need the additional license, a Decision Maker will need to contact memberservices@webpt.